homemade food wrap

24Jan10

My friend J has the best ideas.  A couple of years ago she threw a giant folk-dancing potluck party.  The entire neighbourhood came.  Friends played their fiddles, J led folk dances and many took turns washing dishes in the kitchen and maintaining the food tables.  J really has the best ethic when in comes to community.  These days, she’s working on starting a klezmer band.  I could go on and on about J’s ideas.

She sent me this link the other day: http://www.granvilleonline.ca/gr/blogs/goods/2010/01/08/make-your-own-reuseable-food-wrap

How to make your own reusable food wrap out of fabric and beeswax!  Brilliant!!

Of course, I bought some beeswax that very day.

The instructions are fairly straightforward:  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper, then melt shredded beeswax into squares of fabric at 150 degrees Fahrenheit.

My only recommendation would be to use a patterned fabric to hide the beeswax splotches.  My light pink fabric turned out like this:

Kind of gross-looking.  Especially when wrapping food.   This one turned out well:

At some point, we’ll cut pretty fabric shapes and experiment with snaps and ties (to make nice little Abeego envelopes).  But this’ll solve my kids’ soggy cracker problem for now. Wash in warm water.

9 Responses to “homemade food wrap”

  1. 1 molly

    will you make me some? :)

  2. These are so cool! I want more detail on how to make them. How much beeswax? Does your light pink fabric one still work even though it’s blotchy? Do they stay closed when you fold them?

  3. Hmm.. how much beeswax…. I would go by the amount in my picture here. i bought small sticks (tea light sized) and would probably use one whole thing to cover a cookie sheets worth of fabric. The wax melts really well – better than you might think.
    They do stay closed, sort of. You could put an elastic band around it, or sew a snap onto it to really secure things.
    And, yes, the light pink fabric one works too – even though it’s blotchy.

  4. I tried it today. It worked pretty well! I think I put too much beeswax so I might try to scrape them somehow and then re-melt a bit to get them just right. Now I need pinking shears…

  5. Excellent! Remelting a scraping is a good idea – I should try that to get rid of the the blotches!

  6. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice whilst you amend your website, how can i subscribe
    for a blog website? The account helped me a applicable deal.
    I had been tiny bit familiar of this your broadcast offered vibrant clear idea

  7. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was totally
    right. This put up truly made my day. You cann’t consider simply how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thank you!


  1. 1 Food Less Plastic: DIY Reusable Food Wrap | Rock Farmer
  2. 2 DIY Reusable Food Wrap « Trash Backwards

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

