miracle fruit

27Feb13

We bought E a plant for Christmas. Not the first gift you’d think of for an eleven-year-old girl, but she was thrilled – because this plant is the coolest.

Shortly after we arrived in Colombia, a new friend came over for dinner, bearing a gift of five small red berries. He told us that these berries would alter our taste buds so that everything would taste sweet. I was skeptical, and a tad worried about poisoning my family with never-wake-up berries, but relented when he told me that they were perfectly safe and that he had tried them himself a number of times (that, and he works for a food science institute – which has to come with some extra credibility in this regard). So, halfway through dinner, we ate them, making sure to mush the pulp all over the insides of our mouths.

IMG_1563

Gah! I almost couldn’t finish my lime margarita. It was sickeningly sweet! Fun, but definitely worth planning our menu accordingly… or at least blending-up a sugarless margarita (no good wasting tequila on a bad margarita).

E’s Christmas plant bore fruit just in time for my sister’s visit. They look sort of sinister, don’t they? Just like the kind of berry you would warn your two-year-old about.

We served lime, lulo, bread, cheese and strawberries.photo 3 (4)

It went well, but not as effective as our first attempt as we had to split two berries among six people (some of us went without). It is far better to have your own berry.

photo 1 (6)

Originally from West Africa, Miracle Plants (or Synsepalum dulcificum) are gaining popularity with diabetics and with trendy folk in New York City (who chip-in for the berries and spend an evening sampling Guinness, pickles, grapefruit and cheese). In 2008, a chef in Ottawa used miracle fruit for a New Year’s Eve party . They come in tablet form as well. This company has the best website (and ships internationally).

It looks as though we have a nice crop coming. Now I just have to source the pickles and Guinness!

10 Responses to “miracle fruit”

  1. I rarely leave responses, however i did a few searching and wound
    up here miracle fruit | left-handed scissors.
    And I actually do have a few questions for you if you don’t mind. Is it simply me or does it look like a few of these comments come across as if they are left by brain dead people? :-P And, if you are writing at additional places, I’d like to follow anything new you have to post.
    Would you make a list of all of all your communal sites like your linkedin
    profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  2. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard
    against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any recommendations?

  3. I’ve learn several good stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how a lot effort you set to make such a magnificent informative web site.

  4. 4 travel

    Hi there, I found your website by means of Google while searching for a related topic,
    your site got here up, it appears to be like great.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, simply was alert to your weblog through Google, and found that
    it is truly informative. I’m going to be careful for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you proceed
    this in future. Numerous folks might be benefited out of your
    writing. Cheers!

  5. 5 Bench Craft Company advertising on facebook page

    Thank you, I’ve recently been looking for info about this topic for ages and yours is the best I have found out so far. However, what about the conclusion? Are you positive in regards to the source?

  6. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it
    up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on. All the best

  7. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in
    my social networks!

  8. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyway, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

  9. It’s amazing in favor of me to have a website, which is valuable in favor of my experience.
    thanks admin

  10. “It was like, I dunno, 4:30 in the morning, and I had just thrown up in an alley, and went to the packy (package store) to pick up a sixer of Schlitz and maybe try my luck at a scratch ticket. The 40 ounce glass jar shows the measurements on the side so you know exactly how much you’re pouring into the blender. Euro-Pro’s pulse blender is often compared to other personal-size blenders such as the Magic Bullet, but the 700 watts of power (compared to the 250 watt Bullet), extra blades, and even the locking sipper lids put it miles ahead of any competition.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

