anonymity and adventure

23Mar13

I have been trying to stay low-stress in this new life of ours, hoping that by being an anonymous, eccentric little family of expats, I can somehow steer clear of all of the things that used to overwhelm me at home.

IMG_1499

This week was on the busier side. I found myself running from appointments to coffee dates to projects… and yet, having fun the entire time. I think maybe it’s the language thing: conquering the day in broken Spanish is WAY more fun than slogging through a day of errands in boring-old-English. And maybe I feel like I can screw-up here: because we won’t be here forever, I can bail and embarrass myself and wear whatever I want and it won’t mean anything to anybody. I am anonymous and embracing the freedom that comes with it.

Except, at one point this week, I sat down to finally type-up a proper phone list (you know, to stick beside the phone) and found that we have built-up a whole network of dentists, doctors, friends, music teachers and Spanish tutors. It hit me that we really live here, and that after nine months we have managed to build up a bustling little life, full of people that I like and trust. Not exactly anonymous.

IMG_2500

AZ and I bought our first house and had E when we were both pretty young. I remember feeling like it wasn’t real. It felt like we were playing ‘house’, and was more of an adventure than a stress load.  That is the way it feels now. We aren’t exactly anonymous, or young, but we are adventuring and experimenting and completely allowed to screw-up. We are busy and loaded with expenses and responsibilities, but not taking anything too seriously.

The chickens help with that. They are freaking hilarious.



One Response to “anonymity and adventure”

  1. xxoo


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

