torta con W en fondant

05Apr13

IMG_2516

I know. My posts haven’t been very regular lately. Sorry about that. I have been busy in a good way (more about that another time).

I have been hanging out with staff and spouses from AZ’s work. I seem to have more in common with the international crowd there than the mothers at the school. I went to a meeting at the school couple of weeks ago, ready to help with an end-of-year breakfast for E’s Grade 6 class. The four women there hardly said hello to me and spent the entire time “organizing” on their cell phones. Rude in any culture, I think. I was ready to participate in Spanish, but couldn’t even get anyone to make eye contact. Weird… and I guess that means I am off-the-hook with regard to volunteering at the school!

Every Friday, I meet with a few women (nice ones from AZ’s work) to have lunch and practice my Spanish and their English (there is one woman from Spain, one from Colombia and one from Mexico). We try to teach each other skills and board games in each others’ languages.  I hosted today. I cooked Jamie Oliver food and taught them how to play Blokus.

My neighbour, from Spain, recently led us through the construction of a beautiful fondant cake – with cupcakes. Designed especially for W, complete with skis, bikes and Keva planks!

IMG_2514

IMG_2507

IMG_2512

IMG_2539

The kids thought it was the coolest thing ever. And I now know the words for icing, snowball, rolling pin and ski pole. Essential stuff, I think.

2 Responses to “torta con W en fondant”

  1. Que bien! Me ganas con estas palabras en Espanyol. No tengo la menor idea como decir “Ski Poles” y “icing”! :)

  2. Wow, fantastic blog format! How long have you been running a blog for?
    you make running a blog look easy. The whole look of your site is
    excellent, let alone the content!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

