prayer flags

21Oct09

As promised, here are some photos of S’s birthday prayer flags – all sewn up and ready for her new room:

IMG_3761

IMG_3758

The classic signature of my 90-year-old grandmother:

IMG_3755

We used both permanent markers and Identi-Pens.  I would recommend using the Identi-Pens or a similar type of fabric pen.  The permanent markers bled.  Also, I tried to ask people to write or draw something special about S, rather than draw a birthday card.  I didn’t want to end up with 35 “Happy 6th Birthday S!” flags.

IMG_3757

I would most definately do this project again.  If you haven’t been there already, Future Craft Collective has many great ideas and an inspiring community ethic.  Read the “What are we doing?” and Why do we do it?” on the first page of their website.  This flag idea was from them.

2 Responses to “prayer flags”

  1. 1 Maegen

    What a lovely idea! I think I’m going to steal it for Rose’s party – now I just have to find a way to weave it in with an Anne of Green Gables theme (her current obsession!)

  2. love it :)


Leave a Reply

