quilted gifts

26Mar10

How awesome is this??:

Not my sewing, the idea.  I borrowed Joelle Hoverson’s Last-minute Quilted and Patchwork Gifts over a month ago.  I keep renewing it to drool over the projects.

The greatest thing about this project is that the girls were able to help so much: digging through the box of pencil crayons for colours, sharpening each one and matching them with fabric scraps.  E even helped cutting the strips, which led to a lesson on grainlines and cotton vs. linen vs. wool vs. synthetics.  For our second roll, I got smart and made a stack of extra strips so that we can make more rolls.

My confidence is way up and I may have to start an actual quilt soon.  AZ and I have been fantasizing about making a quilt for our bed.  Hoverson’s look manageable enough for us rookies.  There is a washed silk one that would be so so beautiful.  Sigh!

3 Responses to “quilted gifts”

  1. 1 Mary

    DO IT!!! Make a quilt!

  2. Hi – I read some mixed reviews about the ‘Last Minute Presents’ book and wasn’t sure whether to buy it or not, but it sounds as if you liked it. Might try browsing for it on Amazon.

    • Not sure about “Last Minute Knitted Gifts” – but the “Quilted Gifts” one is beautiful – I think :) go for it.


Leave a Reply

