neighbourly knitting

12Apr10

I am relatively new to this knitting stuff.  Just over a year ago, I started knitting wee hats and slowly advanced to wee sweaters.  It isn’t as hard as I thought it would be.  As long as I keep my shoulders relaxed and stay calm through my mistakes, I really quite enjoy it (read: as soon as I get cranky, I put the yarn away).  Youtube also has some great tutorials to consult when stuck.

(picture is from the Golden Compass)

Early-on in my knitting career, I watched the Golden Compass with the kids.  The main character, Lyra, wears the most beautiful knit sweaters, hats and gloves.  Every so often, I’ll think about her to get me moving forward on a project.

So, I finished a “Neighborly” vest.  Finally! (took about 5 months)  The creator suggests making two:  one for yourself and one for a ‘neighbour’.  Ahhh… good idea, but more than I can manage at the moment…. so, I’m going to pass the neighbourly vibes on to you and ask that you do the same with your vest (maybe, I’ll be neighbourly with a hat?  I’m better at those).

Again, crossing my fingers that the lovely Miss. S wears it after this photo shoot!  It is a bit small, but I am trying not to think about that…

4 Responses to “neighbourly knitting”

  1. 1 Grandma

    Love the expression on S’s face! Don’t know if it will last on her.

  2. 2 erin

    super cute vest…darn those kids for growing too fast!!! xo e.

  3. I’m a newish knitter too! Just been at it a year but it’s addictive, like tattoos. I love that sweater and will have to make one for my girl.

    BTW, found you through the Vancouver Mom thing. Linked you up at my site too! http://bit.ly/cUEMI2

  4. Wonderful goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely fantastic.
    I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it.

    You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep
    it wise. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is really a
    wonderful website.


Leave a Reply

