fisherman pants

12Jun10

Smoking Lily makes gorgeous Thai fisherman pants…. with a little more substance than your authentic cotton fisherman pants.  Think denim or heavyweight linen, with a couple of d-rings to secure the belt.  I bought mine over seven years ago.  I wore them to bits.  Last week, I cut them up and copied them.  It’s such a great design:

Though it isn’t very ethical to flat out copy, I figure I’m advertising here.  If you’d like to buy some great pants, go to Smoking Lily!

These ones were made with recycled cotton/bamboo/polyester??  I meant to write it down, but I forgot.  My point is that they are made from a blue, sustainable-ish fabric – sort of like denim.  (I have a lens cap in my back pocket.  This is why my bum looks lumpy.  I swear).

I made a second pair.  Tragedy struck when I accidentally sewed the waistband and pockets to the inseam, with top stitching and all.  ARG:

I did fix them, but ended up sewing a third pair.  They weren’t supposed to have a waistband, but I was trying to get creative with the design.  They didn’t sit right this way – anyone want them?  I got it right with pair #3 – made from a super-lightweight brown wool.  I am taking them on the trip and will snap some photos then.

Signing off now.  Soexcited.  AZ hasn’t had this much time off in ten years (incidentally, this was when we went to Thailand and bought real fisherman pants).  He’s threatening to grow a beard.

6 Responses to “fisherman pants”

  1. 1 erin

    pick me! pick me! those are awesome pants :)
    have such a wonderful trip…can’t wait to hear all about your adventures!
    xo e.

  2. 2 erin

    i have to add…i’m amazed that you pulled off sewing THREE pairs of pants while getting everyone organized for your grand adventure! yee-hah!

  3. AZ can grow a beard…??

  4. If some one wants to be updated with most up-to-date technologies
    therefore he must be pay a quick visit this website and be up
    to date all the time.

  5. 6 Kate

    Hi, I just stumbled across your blog post and I love these fisherman pants. I want to make some for my husband but am having trouble finding a pattern which has the front buckle like yours. Any chance your would share your pattern (I’d be happy to pay for it) or give me some pointers on how to daft my own?
    Thank you,
    Kate


Leave a Reply

