for the winter

26Jul10

A couple of days after we got home, I was due in East Van to pick up some chickens.  About fifty pounds… for the freezer.  My sister once told me that she far preferred storing a portion of a cow in her freezer, rather than multiple chicken lives.  I am trying not to think about how many lives I have in my freezer.  Maybe it would feel better if I had raised and killed them myself?  Hmmm… and plucked them – how is that for a fun activity with the kiddies?  Anyhow, they are there and I have picked one out for Christmas.  Yummy, pasture-raised, chemical and additive free chickens.  Yippee. 

AZ cooking chicken on a public grill in Visby:  Does Vancouver have any of these public grills anywhere?

One the way to chicken-pick up, my babes and I went strawberry picking.  And last night, we went raspberry picking…  and AZ has ordered a whack of blueberries from a colleague at work.  All of this, and I have managed to harvest and freeze some chard from my own uber-wee garden.  I didn’t think we would get it together, but there it is.  We’ll just keep plugging along as the crops ripen.  There is a nice pace to it, really – and all hell doesn’t really break loose until the tomatoes are ready.  But, by then, we’ve warmed up.

The canning bug hasn’t hit yet, but overall, I think we are on it.  Let’s just hope the freezer doesn’t cut out on us.

One Response to “for the winter”

  1. 1 Maegen

    I’m sorry I wasn’t there to see you at the chicken pick up! Your photos are amazing – I can’t wait to hear more about your adventure!


Leave a Reply

