window garden, part two!

19Jan11

AZ came home from work one day with a super information sheet on how to make these (he works at a science centre).  I briefly looked at it, then lost it.  So, I am not sure if I did it right – but here it is:

  • Cut a large hole in the side of the bottle (the greens will have to spill-out here).
  • Fill the bottom of the bottle with potting soil
  • Plant seeds (the garden shop lady said that greens would work well, but that it was still too cold for basil).  I assume it’s best to plant something that won’t get too heavy.
  • Hang the bottles in the window
  • Pour a shot glass of water into each bottle (now I just keep the soil moist with a water-squirter)

That’s it.  AZ suspects the plants will bolt, but I am optimistic. I found this group of window farmers in Brooklyn, but they get all fancy with an aquarium air pump and no soil (?!).  If this doesn’t work, maybe we’ll give that a shot. Keep you posted!

3 Responses to “window garden, part two!”

  1. 1 Vanessa

    Thanks for the info! I’m inspired to try the same. I’d love to see what comes of your window garden.

  2. 2 Vanessa

    I looked up window farms and Brooklyn. Fun stuff!

  3. 3 Aimee

    Very cool! I am thinking I may have to try this as a school project. Keep us posted.


Leave a Reply

