healthy granola bars

09Mar11

My quest for the perfect homemade granola bar is over!  Most are either too sweet or too goopy.  These were largely adapted from the ‘Do-it-yourself power bars’ in Heidi Swanson’s Super Natural Cooking.  They are yummy and healthy and can be adjusted endlessly (I have to say that AZ’s BOW pancake recipe has really upped my baking confidence).

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil (this is to grease the pan. You could also substitute nut or vegetable oil)
  • 1 1/4 cups rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup nuts or seeds (toasted and chopped. You could also go nut-free and add more oats or rice cereal)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut (or chocolate chips. If you use chocolate chips, wait and press them into the hot bars at the very end, otherwise they will melt and turn your bars brown!)
  • 1/2 cup oat bran
  • 1 1/2 cups crisped brown rice cereal (I use Natures Path Crispy Rice.  You could also use Rice Krispies)
  • 1 cup chopped banana chips or dried fruit (or both)
  • 1 cup brown rice syrup (this is the secret not-too-sweet ingredient.  Please let me know if you find a cheap brand!)
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Method:

  • Grease a cookie sheet with coconut oil
  • In a bowl, stir together all of the dry ingredients (except for the salt)
  • In a small saucepan, stir the remaining ingredients (including salt) together over medium heat until they start to boil and thicken slightly
  • Pour the hot liquid over the dry ingredients.  Mix quickly until the dry ingredients are fully coated
  • While the mixture is still hot, press it into the cookie sheet.  If your are using chocolate chips, press them in now – quickly or they won’t stick! – you can also drizzle hot honey over the chocolate chips to increase the stick factor)
  • Leave to cool.  Cut into bars.

In a way, they are like healthy Rice Krispie Squares.  Depending on what you put in, you may have to make adjustments to your dry/wet ratio.  My first batch was awesome, my second batch was on the crumbly side.  Good luck!

8 Responses to “healthy granola bars”

  1. 1 Aimee

    I can’t wait to make these. I mean, have Mike make these!

  2. 2 Amy

    Mmmm. Those sound (and look) amazing. Sister Meg always has home-made granola bars kicking around and I always say I’m going to make some, but I never do. I just eat hers. Maybe now’s the time!

  3. 3 Erin

    Looks great, I’ve been on the hunt for a good granola bar for ages. I was also eyeing some Heidi Swanson recipes. I’ll have to go in search of brown rice syrup.

  4. Amazing issues here. I am very glad to look your article.
    Thank you a lot and I am having a look ahead to contact you.
    Will you please drop me a mail?

  5. I don’t even know how I ended up right here, but I thought this publish used to be good. I do not realize who you might be however certainly you are going to a famous blogger should you aren’t already.
    Cheers!

  6. Definitely imagine that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be at the internet the easiest thing to take into accout
    of. I say to you, I certainly get irked even as other folks think
    about concerns that they plainly do not know about. You controlled to
    hit the nail upon the top and defined out the entire thing without having side-effects , other folks
    can take a signal. Will probably be again
    to get more. Thank you

  7. 7 Glen

    Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and
    I’m impressed! Very helpful info specially the last part :) I care for such info much. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  8. How do I compose a song on the piano?


Leave a Reply

