tracing table

22Sep11

We had a set-up like this when I was growing up.  I think because my dad was a geography teacher and had to make maps for his students.  As a kid, I used to spend evenings tracing princess dresses out of picture books.  Nerdy?

I have to do a lot of tracing for my pattern drafting class.  I got all excited when I realized I had all of the equipment necessary to make a tracing table of my own!

To make, you will need:

  • a piece of plexiglass, roughly 9×14 inches (I had one to protect my cookbooks – you might also *try* a piece of glass from an old frame)
  • spray glue (don’t ask why I have this.  Comes in pretty handy though. You can buy this at an art or hardware store)
  • a piece of tracing paper, roughly the same size as the plexiglass.
  • a table or chair with square legs to support the plexiglass.
  • a lamp with a bendy arm (to set up as per the photo above)

Glue the tracing paper to the plexiglass. Spray evenly and try not to use too much, otherwise the paper will look blotchy. The paper softens the glare from the lamp. Wait for the glue to dry, place the plexiglass on top of the turned-over chair legs (to make little table) and turn the light on underneath (so that it shines up through the plexiglass) . You should be able to layer a couple of sheets of paper to trace. If you have more tracing paper, try making stained glass windows. Like these:

4 Responses to “tracing table”

  1. I just got to your blog via a Seamstress of Salzburg photo- I felt an instant kinship since I was that same girl way back in 1972, checking that book out nearly every week- my librarian, Naomi Bush, would ask me now and again to please leave it there for a week or two so someone else could have a chance to check it out. I finally found a copy on ebay several years ago- after writing to Anita Lobel to gush and beg her to reissue the story (she said no) it is a wonderful book! I’ll be checking your blog out often- love the tracing table idea too.

  2. oh and I’m left handed too!!

  3. I just couldn’t depart your website before suggesting that I really loved the standard info a person supply on your visitors? Is going to be again frequently in order to inspect new posts

  4. Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa?
    My blog goes over a lot of the same subjects as yours and
    I believe we could greatly benefit from each other. If you happen to be interested feel free
    to shoot me an email. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Awesome blog by the way!


Leave a Reply

