board games

07Aug12

I’ve had patchy help over the years, first when I was still working as a librarian and later when the three-baby thing got hairy and I farmed the youngest off to a crazy old lady’s house for a day a week.

Now, I have help with the cleaning and laundry stuff. Yes. It rules. I’ll call her L. But I find myself doing neurotic things like rushing to wash the breakfast dishes so that she won’t think I am spoiled.  Then I stress that I am doing too much work and that she is getting bored…. I mean, really??  Why do I let guilt ruin this super-cool perk?

I do notice that I am more relaxed. I have had one headache since our arrival in Cali. I have read three novels. I run most days. I cook from cookbooks. AND I play board games with my kids.

AZ’s cousin once remarked that “nature has a way of filling up space”.  I love this…. because, I know how lucky I am to be off the laundry and cleaning hook… and I know that eventually nature will fill up my time with a new kind of work (especially after the kids start school).  But after eleven years of wiping and scrubbing and folding and rushing and nagging and trying to top it all off with an income of some kind, I am a new kind of mom.  A mom with enthusiasm for board games.

I hope they remember this phase.

5 Responses to “board games”

  1. Heavenly. I’d like to be your kid.
    Glad to hear the headaches have eased up. xo

  2. You ought to be a part of a contest for one of the greatest blogs on the internet.
    I most certainly will highly recommend this website!

  3. My family members all the time say that I am wasting my
    time here at net, except I know I am getting experience all the time by reading thes nice articles or reviews.

  4. The biogas output of my outdated poultry-manure take a look at digester has dropped sharply at
    the finish of the fifth month.


  1. 1 free wii ideas

Leave a Reply

