running with livestock

09Sep12

On one of my first Cali road runs, I came face to face with an uncomfortable looking horse. Yes. You read that right. A horse.

She was looking right at me, weaving up the middle of the street, with the biggest stomach I have ever seen. It was a little nerve wracking, but more funny, cause when do you ever worry about being attacked by a horse?

I’m not a horse girl or even really an animal girl, but I was pretty sure this particular horsey had a baby coming. She looked miserable.

And, guess what? I was right! A few weeks later, I saw this little baby! Meandering, grazing their way around the neighbourhood, I get to watch this little family all the time. Once, Lil’ Baby was lying down at the side of the road in the middle of the day. I was really worried that it had been hit by a car, but nope – its little ears twitched and I saw it again the next day.

A couple of times now, I’ve seen a Colombian cowboy hee-yawing Lil’ Baby, its mom and some friends back up the road… I guess towards where they live? Both times, it was like a stampede, galloping my way.

I don’t bring my phone with me when I run. This picture was taken from the car. But one day, I will have to bring it along, cause running here is pretty wild. I haven’t even started talking about the cows yet.

No Responses Yet to “running with livestock”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

