silk

19Jan13

IMG_2268

In an effort to find my ‘thing’ down here in Colombia, I have been learning as much as I can about local textile production.

As some of you know, I was enrolled in design school back in Vancouver. When we moved, I withdrew from the program halfway through. I had pretty much finished the patternmaking component, and much of the sewing and drawing, but I did not get to tackle any of the final collection assignments with the support of my peers and instructors.

The Colombian clothing and textile industry is huge (look at the tags of items by Tommy Hilfiger, Esprit and many others). In fact, one of my Vancouver classmates is having great success at home with her Colombia-made bikinis. Though it would have been nice to finish school with my class, I do feel very lucky to be down here, where I can get a wider and more unique perspective on things.

The only downside here is that it can be a bit isolating, trying to establish a network patient enough to put up with my slow Spanish and inability to engage in any truly interesting conversation! Little by little, I make connections and find direction.

I was over-the-moon last week when I got to visit a community of silk artisans, complete with mulberry bushes, worms, cocoons (depicted above), reeling machines and looms.

IMG_2284

I am heading back next week, armed with more words, a notebook and my good camera. There is much to learn.

2 Responses to “silk”

  1. 1 Ilse Zandstra

    I do admire your courage.

  2. 2 Hubert

    Great and go for it !!


Leave a Reply

